5 Paragraph Essay Narration

The most memorable time in my life is when I first learned to ride a bike, without training wheels of course. I remember the day like it was yesterday even though it was fifteen years ago. This is one of the proudest moments in any childs life. It’s a lesson that they remember forever. Usually it becomes a stepping stone for most, it signifies a new chapter. Learning to ride my bike for the first time meant a lot to me.

I had just turned five years old and my dad had been trying to teach me for a while had to ride my bike. For the most part I mastered the art of riding with training wheels, but the more challenging part was riding without them. Now I had never attempted it before because my dad wanted to make sure that I was ready for the big step. Everyday I would ride and ride, without any problems or hesitations. I would go around and around the block time and time again. It was something that I was definitely scared to do. What if I fell? What if I couldn’t even start to pedal? There were so many things that could go wrong with my bike that I almost didn’t even want to do it.

As a stood outside with my dad, I looked down the long narrow street. It seemed longer than usual. I know my dad wouldn’t steer me wrong when he said I was ready to take my training wheels off. I thought he was crazy. I would be ok with leaving them on for a few more years, even if all the other kids were moving ahead of me. As a prepared for take off I safely secured my helmet, my kneepads, and my elbow pads. If I was going to fall I wanted to be prepared with all safety precautions. As I took a deep breath, my dad began to unscrew the bolts to remove the training wheels. One by one he took them off. It looked like a whole new bike. It was no longer a little kids bike, it was a big kids bike now.

As I lifted my leg over the seat my heart began to beat faster and faster. I closed my eyes envisioning myself riding down the street smoothly. As my dad balanced me on the bike I took off. I didn’t stop. I was actually riding my bike, as I can hear my dad cheering me on in the back. I was proud and I knew he was too. The wind was blowing in my hair and it felt like I was flying. I couldn’t believe that I was riding so perfectly. The only problem was that I didn’t learn how to turn around. Big mistake. I had no choice but to keep riding around the block. I rode until I reached my dad again. As we both smiled and laughed I couldn’t help but think how perfect this day was.

Learning to ride my bike without training wheels was a huge step for me. Not only did I learn something new, it was the first time that I knew I could do something without the help of anyone else. It was something I did on my own. It was definitely one of the proudest times of my childhood.

Leave a Reply

