5 Paragraph Essay Description

One of the scariest moments in any childs life is their first visit to the dentist. They are told horrifying stories about their first visit. They people they see, the sounds they’ll hear, the work that will be done on their mouth will have them scared out of their minds. It’s an experience that most kids don’t forget, and even as adults they still fear going to the dentist. My first time was full of mixed emotions and the visual image of that day still lies in my head.

As I walk into the dungeon of doom, I push the large, wooden door open. The bell tinkled, with a soft but shrill ring. It’s almost as if the door is speaking to me telling me to leave while I still have the chance.  A wave of rubber gloves and disinfectant masked with cheap air freshener washes over me. It has a distinct smell to it. Nothing that I had ever smelled before. Chairs are cluttered in the waiting room of the dentists. Clusters of magazines lie on the scratched wood of the coffee tables, shiny bright plastic screaming out logos and slogans. A little way forward from where I stand is a desk. A smiling receptionist sits there. She seems to have been expecting me somehow, as she indicates to the couches and chairs. The chairs have an old pattern to them, like if the place has been here for decades.
A few nervous patients are already there. They try to avert their eyes from the closed, threatening doors leading to the dental surgery rooms, where an ominous high-pitched whirring sound is coming from. Occasionally, I hear a muffled thud, or yell. One by one, the receptionist calls out the patients name. Plastered on the walls are dramatic “Before/After” photos. They show yellow teeth, set crookedly in red raw gums becoming brilliantly white and straight. The walls are painted a stark, clinical white, however photographs of people with toothy grins beam down at me, from newspaper clippings over the years. It must be my imagination, but already I can taste the slightly stale, bubblegum flavoured gloves, the cool hard metal of the examining probe, and the chink clink it makes when it sometimes collides with my teeth. I can feel the vinyl of the reclining chairs, which are covered in plastic, and also which clammy legs have a habit to stick to.

The overall feeling is unexplainable. The atmosphere gave a chilling vibe, while the receptionist called out my name. As I walked the dark halls seem to get longer and longer. Filled with frightening sounds and shrieking victims, I can’t help but think something is going to happen to me. The dentist is a slightly tall woman, short hair, with perfect white teeth, just as I had suspected. She smiles down at me with a soft grin that gives me the chills. She tells me to relax and lay back. As I close my eyes I can hear the machinery going off. It’s loud and gets even louder as it approaches my mouth. I clinch my eyes as she begins to drill. Her gloves in my mouth taste like rubber, very disgusting. Before I know it the procedure is over.

Going to the dentist was a memory that is burned in the back of my brain and every time I go I always reflect on that first time I went. Although it was a scary moment, it actually goes by faster than most people think. The atmosphere and the scary effects just add more suspense to it.

Leave a Reply

